Print Header

Squadrons of the RNZAF

The primary operational unit of an air force is a squadron. These traditionally comprise a number of aircraft, aircrew, ground crew and often support personnel necessary to meet the tasks of the particular squadron at base and when deployed. Within the RNZAF there are six flying squadrons. There is also one specialist flying school. The flying squadrons are further divided into Operational Squadrons (combat capable squadrons) and two Training Squadrons. 

Operational Squadrons

Training Squadrons


Pilot Training

Central Flying School and the Helicopter Conversion Flight are also covered in the Flying Training Elements section